Trevally [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Trevally

Trevor B
11-04-2007, 06:02 PM
What is a good set up , leader wise for Trevally , the simpler the better
thanks Trev

josko
11-08-2007, 08:28 AM
I'm no expert, but I've used straight 30 lb fluoro, with a bite tippet of 80 lb. The big thing is to avoid getting broken off on coral. It would make sense to use >30lb, but then I find the fly line breaks first.
I've used poppers and floating lines , but fast-sink lines are more effective, IMHO.

Eddie
11-10-2007, 10:39 AM
I found that poppers sometimes spooked them, and had better luck with a big streamer.

I think I used a wire bite guard and 20#, but I might have been using a tarpon leader (60#). I don't think that the bite guard is too important. I suspect that straight 30 would be fine. Josko is right. The coral is the real threat. This is one of those times when it is better to be lucky than good.

petevicar
11-12-2007, 10:51 AM
Hi Trevor

I use straight 60lb fluoro. This is only for abrasion reasons. A GT will normally try to go around a coral head.
I use epoxy head deceivers with a brown back.
This works great in the Seychelles.

Pete

Trevor B
11-12-2007, 01:57 PM
Pete
Any advice on the colors of the deceivers other than the dark back ? and the length of the leader ?
I'm guessing you must have been away fishing ?

Mat M
11-12-2007, 02:24 PM
Trev,

Did you get the article I sent through. Great piece of writing by Tim Pask who has landed some huge fish out at Christmas.

I'm with Pete. I fish 60lb stright through generally with a big white deceiver on the end. Have caught them on all kinds of fly's (crease fly's, Merkins, clousers). Have cast at some big fish with small offerings and they have been completely ignored. Big is better if you are going to chase the really big fish.

Regards
Mat

Trevor B
11-12-2007, 03:49 PM
Mat