Matching up a 2 hander and flyline [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Matching up a 2 hander and flyline

hughz
07-24-2007, 05:23 PM
Hello Flytalkers, I think this might be my first post her so hello!

Anyway I've got a Red Fly 8wt 13' double handed rod and I'd like to matchup a good line for surf casting. Since it's overhead casting, I think the appropriate spey line will be to heavy. My regular 8 weight line won't come close to loading it so I'm curious to hear if anyone out there has matched up a good line for this type of fishing. I'm also reading about the Rio outbound lines, on a chart they have on their site, they're saying an 11wt.

Any ideas or experience, comments, whatever always welcome! - don

Warren
07-24-2007, 06:47 PM
Hello Hughz and welcome to the forum.
Hopefully Juro will see this & put in his two cents. I am new to two handers & only have the 11 foot models that are made specifically for surf casting. I have the Rio Outbound 10 Wt on my CND Atlantis 9-10 wt. mainly because that is what Juro said works best when I talked to him about it one day . I also use the same Outbound on a couple of single handers. All these rods were designed with ten wt line in mind.

The 11 Wt Rio outbound intermediate sink tip is 465 grains. On either side of that the 10 wt is 425 grain and the 12 wt is 510 grain. I am going to assume you are wanting the intermediate line for the surf. You may have to experiment some to find the right combination. That can run into some bucks if you cannot find a kind soul to borrow a line from for testing.

I found that chart you are referring to. It looks as if maybe the folks at Rio have maybe tested this out some. Or maybe took a Scientific Wild Assed Guess:D

juro
07-24-2007, 07:05 PM
I don't know that rod but Simon Gawesworth does the ratings for Rio and what he says is gospel in my book.