Kenai Peninsula Fly Fishing [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Kenai Peninsula Fly Fishing

Danny Boy
07-11-2007, 04:43 PM
Hello hello ~ I just joined this forum and am wondering how many Alaskans are out and about and more specifically, do any of you fellow fly fishermen and women make haste for Alaska to fish our beautiful waters???

Warren
07-12-2007, 12:17 PM
Hello Danny Boy,
I have no Alaskan experience, but thought I would say Hi and welcome to the forum. I live in New Hampshire & primarily fish for Stripers, trout, bass and Land lock salmon in the spring

Eric
07-12-2007, 03:23 PM
Well, welcome Danny. Unlike Warren, I have some serious Alaska experience, but don't live there (wish I did, for months of August - October at least). Only really know the northern most Hawaiian Island (aka Kodiak), but also have fished some in SE.

Again, welcome, and cheers,

Eric

PS: there are Alaska flyfishers on this Forum

Danny Boy
07-12-2007, 08:19 PM
Thank you for the kind welcome to the forum. New Hampshire ~ talk about opposite corners! I grew up in South Hersey and moved to Alaska when I was nine; I've never fished stripers but would love to do so. Do you find some decent trout in your neck of the woods, Warren?

Eric ~ if you've fished Kodiak I would imagine you were on the Karluk. I've yet to fish it but know it houses some bruiser steelhead. I spend most of my time on the Upper and Middle Kenai and you're right: August - October are pretty stellar months here. But, November can be pretty awesome if the weather permits and last December my buddy caught a rainbow I'd estimate at 13-15 pounds. Sounds like a fish story, but I have pictures. :smile: What part of the Pacific Northwest do you call home? What's the good word with the fishing in Hawaii? Fly-fishing or traditional gear... inshore or offshore? One of these days I'd like to investigate that neck of the woods.

Warren
07-13-2007, 05:20 PM
Danny Boy,