Flurocarbon and surface action and knots [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Flurocarbon and surface action and knots

Adam
05-27-2006, 08:51 AM
I've been considering using a straight 50# flurocarbon leader (6') for my pike (big pike, 30-50") trip next week, as DbleHaul has suggested. As FC sinks, I was wondering how this will effect my poppers' and gurglers' (tied on 1/0 and 2/0 hooks) surface action. Will the FC pull the flys under water too much? No problem with streamers, of course.

As for FC and knots, I know that they can be tricky and may not hold under certain circumstances, so I just want to be sure that I'll be using the rights knots. I'm new to the slim beauty, but intend on using it where appropriate. And, I also plan on using the Homer Rhodes loop knot to tie on to the flies. I also like the no-slip loop knot. Will these knots (using 50# FC) hold well to the fly? I know that the HR loop knot is no where near 100%, but with a 50# line, I sure it won't matter, eh?

Sorry for the double-post, but I'm also posting this on the Lines, Loops and Leaders sub-forum. I posted here first and then saw the other sub-forum, which may be the more appropriate forum.

Quentin
05-27-2006, 12:31 PM
It will depend a lot on how bouyant your flies are. I've used straight 40# fluoro for leaders for pike fishing with foam head divers, which are fairly bouyant. The heavy fluoro does have an effect on the fly's action if I give the leader time to sink. The leader may not pull the fly under on its own but will drag the fly downward instead of forward when I pull the line. It also takes longer for the fly to resurface between tugs. This is not a problem if I begin the retrieve right away and do not allow long pauses during the retrieve.