Sage SP IV 590 [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Sage SP IV 590

IDAHO79
05-23-2006, 05:09 PM
Can anybody give me some info on the this rod?
http://img103.imageshack.us/img103/4654/sage5ki.th.jpg (http://img103.imageshack.us/my.php?image=sage5ki.jpg)
Sage Graphite IV 590 SP+
#5 line 9'0 3 3/8 oz
Durascrim is marked under the Sage logo as well
I was browsing the local pawn today and came across it. Been trying to google some info on it but only found the exact rod on EBay, and some comparisons to the SLT series.
The guy at the pawn shop said he could give it to me for $200.00. It looks somewhat brand new no marks or stains on the cork. All the guides and shaft look like new as well. This is my first year and was about to buy the Sage Launch 9'0 #5line for about the same amount of money. Should I stick with the Launch Series or go for the Sp Series, if its a good deal? Any replys would be great. Thanks.........

BigDave
05-23-2006, 05:46 PM
The SP is an excellent medium-fast action rod that I would put up there with anything Sage is making nowadays. I have a 2 pc. 6, but is an an SP not SP+. You probably noticed the SP hardware is vastly superior to the launch rods...it was once featured at the top end of the Sage lineup.

Not sure what the differences are between SP and SP+...maybe someone else will chime in.

D3Smartie
05-23-2006, 11:22 PM
SP
without a doubt.... The old SP has now become the SLT. My favorite trout rods and i like the 8wts for altantic salmon. Without a doubt it is a much better although older rod than the Launch.

IDAHO79
05-24-2006, 12:58 AM
Well, it sounds like the SP rod is the better of the two. Tomorrow I think I will go back and purchase it. THanks for all the info. Kelly~

BLACK FRANCIS
05-24-2006, 05:49 AM
the rod shown is a sp+ which make all the difference in the world. this rod will be much more like a TCR, very fast (i owned one for years). definitly one of the fastest action 5 weights i have ever cast. the sp reg is a medium action rod.