A few flies for Belize [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: A few flies for Belize

tight-lines
04-01-2006, 06:59 AM
You all have inspired me to start tying so I thought I'd share a few of the patterns I'm tying for Belize. I hope the images come out ok I'm new to this digital stuff. Any comments would be appreciated as I'm also new to this type of tying (salt).
Thanks
Joe

FishHawk
04-01-2006, 07:05 AM
The last pattern with the chartreuse and white wing would make a great fly for the Flats of Cape Cod. :lildevl: Nice work. FishHawk

tight-lines
04-01-2006, 12:30 PM
rainy day thought I'd try another
rams wool crab. what do you think? look fishy?:D

hmaadd
04-01-2006, 12:55 PM
what kind of material did you use on the baitfish and where did you get the patterns. nice job

doogue
04-01-2006, 01:58 PM
Just wanted to let you know that the flies look great.

Glad to see that you have a little pink in your flies. The bones seemed to prefer a little pink while I was there (2 weeks ago).

Good work.

Have fun,

Mike

tight-lines
04-01-2006, 02:43 PM
The baitfish is a version of the double bunny
zonker strips top and bottom diamond braid wrapped around the shank, red marabou for the gills, lead eye on the bottom to keep point up, couple strands of k - flash and epoxy on the eyes. peice of cake!
I tie a all white version for smallmouth works great nice action especially when they key on shad.

The other flies are pretty much standard stuff Turneffe crab, gottcha w/ legs, bonefish bitter, pink puff,Chico's snapping shrimp, skinny water shrimp(I think Juro posted this one in a differnt color), my version of the spawning shrimp and the crab is just something I made up useing ideas I found on this site. The Rams wool really looks good wet kind of translucent around the edges.