Help With new rods and techniques [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Help With new rods and techniques

eric_garvin
01-24-2006, 08:42 PM
Hello,

I am fairly new to fly fishing. My friends and I usually fish for big bluegills and redears in farm ponds and often fish for trout in Missouri's spring parks and rivers.

I have a 5 wt., 7' 9" orvis clearwater rod loaded with 4 wt wulff tt. It is great for small flies like griffith's gnats for trout and black ants for the redears.

I recently purchased a redington 5 wt. , 9 ft. on clearance. I am interested in learning new techniques and would like advice from several people regarding a possible use for this rod, especially line types.

I recieved a Gander Mountain 6wt. , 9 footer as a wedding gift and would like similar suggestions.(guide series rod)

The spring waters in Missouri aren't real deep, and casts don't have to be real far. I would like to be able to fish nymphs or scuds effeciently. I also like to fish wooly buggers occasionally. Fishing with indicators seems to work well for some people.

I would like anyone with experience to give me some suggestions for developing techniques based on the use of these 2 new rods. Suggestions for line types, leaders, flies, etc.

what would you do?

Thanks, Eric.

baldmountain
01-25-2006, 08:47 AM
To me there isn't a lot of difference between the 5 and 6 wt. If you can, I'd return the Reddington, (it's harder to return wedding gifts), and load the Gander Mtn up with a Bass taper fly line, (a Rio Clouser?), and hunt some BIG bass in those farm ponds.

If you can't return the Reddington use it as a nymph rod for trout. The extra length will give you more line control and the 5 wt will help throw weighted nymphs, split shot and an indicator. (The 6w will make a decent nymph rod too.)

Eddie
01-25-2006, 09:29 AM
that sounds about right.