Most memorable trout of 2005 [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Most memorable trout of 2005

juro
11-13-2005, 11:14 PM
This one came from a remote Washington state river. Battled like the dickens, gorgeous to behold - a real rainbow in it's native environment. Kept in the water, quickly released.

griz
11-14-2005, 01:51 AM
I hope this works. It's a big 5 mb movie file(you've been warned for those with dial up!!! :tsk_tsk: ) of some lunker cutts swimming around the shallows of a remote high lake up in the Mt. Zirkel Wilderness north of Steamboat. No trail. The smaller one was 18 1/2 inches long and was landed after hitting a small wooley bugger type streamer of mine. The larger one we estimated around 21"-22" but neither of us landed him... :frown:

edit: okay... put it up on my website today. I'm just learning this website stuff so it starts loading once you click the link. to replay it just hit your "enter" key(probably will run smoother second go around). 5mb file and need quicktime plugin.

http://www.exploreimages.info/lunkercutthroatvideo.htm

Bob Pauli
11-14-2005, 06:44 AM
California's Sierra Region trout fishery closes November 15; that's tomorrow! The Fall River in far NE California has only native McCloud redband rainbow trout and they are in full spawning adornment. . Some look like Kispiox steelhead, which I suppose they are not far from genetically.

The days are shorter than tables indicate due to mountains to the west, such as 14,000+ feet Mount Shasta, and I laugh at myself trying to squeeze in every possible fishing minute.