Which line best to use for bass [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Which line best to use for bass

1copper
06-13-2005, 08:23 PM
Hello, I'm fishing my area reservoirs and am wondering which line is the best for bass. Most of the bass are holding at about 10-15 feet of water. If I use a long leader on a floating line will it get down that deep. Or would a sinking tip line or sinking line be better with a shorter leader?

carbon1986
06-13-2005, 10:23 PM
I'm by no means an expert but I think that if they're past about 7 feet, you're going to need a sinking or at least a sink tip line to get streamers down to them. If you use floating line you would need a leader about 18 feet long and a super heavy fly to get anywhere near the fish. JMO, but I think you'd benefit from a sinking line in this situation.

Dble Haul
06-14-2005, 08:30 AM
I agree with carbon. Even if you did use a floating line an a very, very long leader you would probably have diffficulty detecting some strikes from bass. A sink tip or sinking line would be much better.

teflon_jones
06-14-2005, 01:13 PM
Sink tip line is definitely needed. Anything past about 5' and I think you need one or else you get a weird retrieve because a floating line is constanly going go be pulling the lure up through the water column. The jigging effect can work, but all in all I'd rather have the sink tip. Scientific Angler's Mastery Series are what I use.

1copper
06-14-2005, 02:47 PM
Thanks guys much appreciated.

1copper
06-14-2005, 02:50 PM
How 'bout a bass bug line. Would that give the same effect as a sinking or sinking tip. Is that line more specialized for bass fishing?

Dble Haul
06-14-2005, 03:06 PM
Bass bug lines are floaters with a specialized head that is designed to help cast bulky flies. I have never seen a bass bug line that wasn't a floater.

There are bass tapers in intermediates and sinkers, but they are labeled as bass tapers and not bass bug lines.

Hope this helps.

1copper
06-14-2005, 08:42 PM