Russia's Kola [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Russia's Kola

trevwf
05-06-2005, 03:45 PM
Those of you who have had the pleasure of fishing in Russia in your view which is the best river and why?

Cheers

trevwf
05-09-2005, 07:09 AM
I hear that the rynda is good, I also recal reading about it in a magazine, does anyone know of it and if so what is it like?

Thanks

teflon_jones
05-09-2005, 10:17 AM
I've never fished there, but Cabela's Outfitter Journal had a program on it recently. I can't remember what river they were fishing, but the fish were all HUGE! It looked a lot like Alaska or Quebec, beautiful scenery.

Gardener
05-09-2005, 11:04 AM
I have no personal experience, but from what I do know you need to be quite clear what sort of experience you're after when it comes to choosing a river and a time to visit.

There are places where you can catch 100 fish in a week, but they are likely to be almost all grilse. On other rivers a tenth of that number might be a good result, but you have a fair chance of a 20lb fish, and possibly one a good deal bigger than that. Do you get pleasure from fishing with deeply sunk lines and heavy flies, or do you want to experience seeing a salmon come up to a dry fly and be able to play around with a single handed rod?

Some rivers are huge, and I believe can be quite daunting to fish, as well as potentially dangerous. Two English guys died last year when their boat overturned on one of the larger rivers, despite wearing life jackets. Others rivers are more like what you may be used to in the British Isles. Do you like pools which are identifiable, and where you can 'read the water' yourself, or are you content to be told by the guide where to fish and to follow his instructions?