The Essential Angler - In Conclusion [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: The Essential Angler - In Conclusion

DEERHAAWK
03-23-2005, 09:43 PM
Some of you know that I work in the construction industry, not in some stuffy office somewhere, but out in the field. At the job I am on now, we are outside for 8 hours each day. Todays work was not very tedious, so I decided to do an experiment. I dressed in jeans, short sleve t-shirt with a long sleve micro-fleece top. Over that I had a Expedition weight fleece vest and a long sleeve fleece pullover to top it off, both vest and pullover had high collars. Waterproof boots and cotton socks, Micro fleece skull cap, and finger-less gloves, hunter style with fleece tops and neopreene palms.
It rained moderatly for about 80% of the day, the ambient temp. was 45 degrees. I felt at no time cold, wet, or in any way uncomfortable. Now some would say "Well, Hawk, you work outside all the time, your used to it" and those who bring this up would be right. There is something to be said for spending alot of time outside. You get "climatized" and over time that can be to your advantage. But the point I will make here is that, baring injury or exaustion, a person who is PREPARED for the elements that he or she might encounter while on that Fishing Trip of a Lifetime, could easily move great distances, even in inclement weather, to reach his or her destination!
Each person and each situation is different, but having the advantage can be the key the difference.
A friend who is an avid Bowhunter brought up a good addition for the survival kit. When I gave him the short list, he asked about the space blankets. I told him that they could be used for shelter/warmth. He said to get a 10x12 piece of heavy plastic and use that for your shelter, leaving the space blankets both for warmth. Fold the plastic as small as you can, then compress with a heavy object to flatten and keep in the bottom of you kit, less the heavy object :chuckle: