quasi intruder tube [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: quasi intruder tube

loophitech
12-22-2004, 10:34 PM
i have been toying around with tubes recently and am still learning so please be gentle as i am a rookie fly tyer.... :o

I am a big fan of intruders in the salt. i have my favorite stick, a meiser 1356 that i use as well and the standard big intruders just did not work well at all in terms of casting. aaron had a gentleman tie me up some small intruders on what i believe are 6 or 8 salmon hooks and worked wonderfully to cast.

so, wanting more i tied this little something up tonight and wondering if anyone has input as to how it was tied and looks for fishability. my intentions are mostly cuttthroat in the salt and damn near all of them hit the intruders like a mack truck.so, please let me know what i can do to improve upon my tube tying. i am using Loop tubes in silver....

the fly is less than 3 1/2 inches long and i used spey hackle on the tail, strung guinea and microbarb grizzly.

thanks,
vinnie

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v146/doublespey/DSC00014.jpg

speydoc
12-22-2004, 10:42 PM
Looks exellent to me - how about adding a strand or two of krystal flash?
speydoc

loophitech
12-22-2004, 11:02 PM
DOH! :o

thanks, speydoc. i can do that. :)

vinnie

TallFlyguy
12-22-2004, 11:10 PM
Try a few turns of Rhea feather on Front or back of that.

what kind of Loop/knot is that connected to the hook? duncan loop?

Just curious

Tall

loophitech
12-22-2004, 11:31 PM
perfection loop, nice and easy to change hooks without disturbing the tube. sorry for the poor quality digital photo. hopefully my wife has taken my hints to the new nikon d70! :lildevl:

vinnie

grouseman
12-23-2004, 02:38 AM
[QUOTE=TallFlyguy]Try a few turns of Rhea feather on Front or back of that.

What is Rhea feather?

t_richerzhagen
12-23-2004, 09:30 AM