Fly Fishing Forum banner

which flies to use?

2K views 3 replies 3 participants last post by  beadhead24/7 
#1 ·
I fish small streams in ky and va. I'm a beginner and i would like to know how to know which flies to use. there arent many (if any ) fly shops around . Most of the trout guys throw nightcrawlers and corn. Iv'e had some luck with a prince nymph and pheasant tail nymph but dunno why they bite that better than others. Any info on getting started learning about the proper flies would help.

thanks,
adam

#2 ·
Flys

Beadhead,
Bug Doctor here......Let's step back to square 1 for a moment. First thing you should do is spend a little time down at the local river / stream. Walk along the banks and observe just what kinds of Hatches are going on in your neck of the woods. By that I mean watch what is flying around, crawling around, swimming around. Look in the shrubs and small trees that line the waterway for any kind of insects that might be potential food for the resident gamefish population. Pick up a few rocks along the shore and turn them over to see what is crawling on the bottom You might take along a small note pad to record what you see. Even if you can't describe on the spot what you are looking at, you can bring the information to the local Library and grab a few books on "Bugs" and see if you can identify those insects.
While you are there, see if there are any books on Entomology that you can thumb through. You can archive the site and find loads of info on this subject When you get an idea of what is "Hatching" in your area, you can better equip yourself for action!
With that said, you have a computer, there are sites you can visit to see flys that match the hatch. Kaufmans Streamborn, which I believe is a sponser of F.F.F has a good selection of "On-Line" flys. Just go to www.kman.com. I think you will find what you are looking for. That"s where the Bug Doctor buys his flys!