Reel Question [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Reel Question

nlhstang
10-20-2004, 06:12 PM
I am new to the world of saltwater fly fishing, and i wanted to ask around for a recommendation. I'm used to throwing 4wt line on mountain streams in Virginia, but a recent move to Boston has inspired me to try salt water.

I'm currently building a 9 ft, 9 wt graphite rod for striper fishing, and i'm trying to decide what reel to slap on the pac bay A8 reel seat. I'm working on a very limited budget, and i've narrowed the options down to two options that i've rounded up on-line. Unfortunately, i haven't found a good shop in the area to investigate 1st hand.

1. Redington RS2 Large Arbor Fishing Fly Reel - 9/10 $69.95

i've read mixed reviews, and i know that they stopped making the reel. I know that it's heavy... my reel question (no pun intended) is whether or not it will hold up in saltwater. Keep in mind that i'm on a budget

2. Okuma Integrity Fly Reel Weight 8oz Line Size 8/9 Price $56.95

I own a 4/5 okuma sierra, and i've had no major complaints. The finishes on their reels aren't great, but holding paint isn't as important to me as mechanical reliability. I know that it's not top of the line, but for the price it seems like a good option. Not sure about salt.

Any advice would be appreciated. Go Sox!

Thanks.

juro
10-20-2004, 06:27 PM
Not sure I could recommend either of them for striper fishing. They'd start out as great reels for the task but would not stand the test of time, unfortunately due to the relentless corrosive qualities of saltwater.

If you can find a used SA2 8/9 or 9/10 you would be far better off and you wouldn't have to spend much more than that. Also, a discontinued reel you might consider would be be old Lamson LP 4 (machined) which you can probably find for under $100 second hand.

Other than that I can't offer any good advice except to invest in a reel that will last, it's cheaper than buying two (or three).

Smcdermott
10-20-2004, 06:35 PM