catch and keep colorado [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: catch and keep colorado

uzibear
09-14-2004, 05:13 AM
well, i've been looking at every reccommended stream i can find and i get excited everytime i see an eye grabbing "gold medal". however, i've got my heart set on taking a few trout home for dinner. it seems that makes me a derilict around here. i'm used to fishing off the south coast of Norway, and there we fished for food! any info on best places to catch and keep around here (i live in boulder). the closer the better, but i don't mind driving to find a good spot. i appreciate any advice on where, when (i'm eager to get fishing now) and what to use. please read: i am a total newbie with only one day on the water and four flys lost to trees. no info is too basic for me. plus, i've read a basics of flyfishing book, but have considered taking a class. i don't think i wan't to shell out for a guided trip, and i was thinking i might just be re-learning what i've read in a basic $20 class. is it really worth it? also, anyone need a fishing partner around here? will haul gear, can drive, am desperate to learn :razz:

Dble Haul
09-14-2004, 09:58 AM
Maybe I've missed something, but how has wanting to keep some fish to eat made you a derilict around here? As long as it's legal to do so, you shouldn't have any problems from anyone here about that.

FWIW, if you can find a class I would recommend taking it. It can provide much more than a book or video simply because it's so interactive.

Good luck.

Brad
09-14-2004, 11:10 AM
You missed his key phrase, "I live in Boulder". Boulder is full of Tofu eating, dredlock wearing, trust fund hippies. Of course you are going to be ostracized for killing any animal if you live in Boulder.

Dble Haul
09-14-2004, 12:27 PM
Ah, now I see. I understood "here" to mean the Forum, not Boulder.

Clear now. :)

uzibear
09-14-2004, 03:16 PM