Boneclave Fly Swap [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Boneclave Fly Swap

Smcdermott
08-04-2004, 08:45 AM
Any interest in a fly swap at the boneclave. We could each tie up 6-12 depending on interest and get the same number back a la Striblue method. Only no mailing we could do the swap Friday night in person.

Just a thought.

Sean

Lefty
08-04-2004, 02:16 PM
Sean,
Not a bad idea, I doubt I will have time to tie them up though. I'm a real slow tyer and my schedule is kinda full. And if I get any time to tie I need to stock up on a dozen Juvi Herring/Pogie flies for the very close blitz season :Eyecrazy: And they take time to get that wide profile. Ain't no Rays fly.

Lefty

Dave17
08-04-2004, 02:47 PM
I'd be all for the swap. Only problem that I have is that I'm a rookie when it comes to the bones. Would be willing to tie, but I would need to know which pattern. So if this gets off the ground I'll leave it up to you guys to tell me what to tie and I'll get them done up before the clave. Let me know

Dave

JimW
08-04-2004, 06:55 PM
Great idea, but I may have to tie them at camp. Bonito bandit, epoxy sand eels, and of course deep/real eels. Never caught a bonito on them but they've been productive on other species.

juro
08-04-2004, 09:06 PM
I've caught both bonito and albies on them but prefer a silverside fly or bunker pattern most of the time due to hook to body ratio.

Smcdermott
08-05-2004, 07:28 AM
Sounds like this may be best done informally. I will certainly have a few extras in my box and we can see whose up for a trade anytime in camp.

Sean

CascoBay
08-05-2004, 07:47 PM
I would be into trading up some flies..

Quentin
08-05-2004, 08:05 PM
Poker for flies? :lildevl:

Q

Slinger
08-06-2004, 01:20 AM
Oh I like that idea Q!! I raise 3 Clousers!
Slinger

Smcdermott
08-06-2004, 06:52 AM
Slinger,