My first Shrimp [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: My first Shrimp

MCorder
11-23-2003, 03:07 PM
This is my first attempt at making a "Shrimp Fly".

MCorder
11-23-2003, 03:08 PM
another view

striblue
11-23-2003, 04:59 PM
M.... Bueatiful!... great color and shape! When you get a chance post the recipe... Great job... does not look like a first time shrimp to me.

ashley
11-23-2003, 05:34 PM
nice fly,please post the receipe so I can try some,might work in other colours for atlantic salmon.

MCorder
11-23-2003, 07:13 PM
Hey, thanks for the compliments!

Here’s the recipe...

Mustad 2/0 34011
Body is Large Cactus Chenille with white palmered Schlappen
Mouth is a tuff of white rabbit
Antenna is pearl Krystal flash
burnt mono for eye’s
plastic bag for back
Ribbing is silver tinsel

MCorder
11-23-2003, 07:14 PM
Oops...epoxy on the back as well

Quentin
11-23-2003, 08:40 PM
Wow, very "shrimp"y. Great camera work too!

Q

rwolson
11-24-2003, 04:44 PM
Very nice, simple shrimp pattern

MCorder
11-24-2003, 04:47 PM
Simple:eek: !!!!!
That fly took me 20 minutes to tie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!;)

FrenchCreek
11-24-2003, 08:33 PM
Sure looks great for a shrimp!:hehe:

flyfisha1
11-24-2003, 11:28 PM
Very nice; looks somewhat similar to one I've seen in Klausmeyer's book. That one should be quite productive!

FishHawk
11-25-2003, 08:00 AM
Pretty good tie for a rookie:D .Tie that in olive or light tan and it would be a killer on the flats of Monomoy. Hope you get a chance to come East and fish the famed flats of Monomy.
FishHawk

flyfisha1
11-25-2003, 08:08 AM
I'd imagine that that pattern would be productive in any coastal fishery. I'm sure it would catch fish all along the Eastern seaboard, as I've used similar patterns from NJ down to the Keys (both sides) and have done quite well (blues, snappers, jacks, 'cuda, and so on). I tie it as small as a 6 and as large as a 1, and in various colors (cream, orange, olive, tan, and pink) as FishHawk denotes.

Gardener
11-25-2003, 09:01 AM