Ultimate Fly [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Ultimate Fly

MCorder
10-06-2003, 06:54 AM
I'm pretty new to the Saltwater side of the house so I have allot of odd questions. This one spawns from a tying session this weekend...
I have total confidance that I can tie on a Hare's Ear Nympth and anywhere in the country catch everything from bass to panfish to trout. I was wondering if there's a saltwater equalivant to this.
Thanks for your help.

striblue
10-06-2003, 07:15 AM
M... I think the only type fly that would seem similar is a shrimp fly... I would think a Hare's ear would work as this imitation. There are countless type's of shrimp flies ,especially for Bonefish, and many type's of tye's for other species... Also a worm fly might also take the appearance of the Nymph. Take a look in the Bonefish fly archives where I have tied up several shrimp flies from Dick Brown's book... I think you will see some that they look a little like the Hare's ear. In fact , I used a shrimp fly this summer that really looked more like a small green wooly bugger. I will be anxious to see what you come up with.

juro
10-06-2003, 07:18 AM
Realistically I don't think there is such a fly, but it would have to be a small deceiver, clouser or crazy charlie to fall into the hare's ear category in the brine, IMHO. The clouser is probably the most fish-catchin'est fly out there in the salt.

striblue
10-06-2003, 07:29 AM
Sorry... I must have confused the question... Juro is correct, but I thought you were looking for an actual Hare's ear equivalent, tied as a Hares Ear. The closest would be a shrimp fly.

Sprocket
10-06-2003, 10:55 AM
I think you're looking for a "Go To" type pattern that will catch everything in everywhere salty...

I'd have to say "Deceiver" - from 2 to 6/0 and color variations - thick or sparce, long or short tails, on bedback hooks or Big Game GAMA-GATZOO's!

Oh yeah, some guy named Clouser has a great pattern too...

MCorder
10-07-2003, 06:49 AM