Fly Fishing Forum banner

Popham Beach Stripers

6K views 11 replies 9 participants last post by  tbuehrens 
#1 ·
Hey guys I'm new to the area and I am from seattle. Iam at Bowdoin college (brunswick ,ME) and I wanted to try for stripers this weekend possibly at Popham beach. What do I need to know, what is the technique (I've never done it before) thanks.
-Tom

#2 ·
If you've ever fished for coho in the salt, there are few differences in the gear and not many in technique either. Start with an 8, 9 or 10wt rod and an intermediate line, or if you tend to fish faster deeper water go with a sinking head line like a teeny-style line. Rio makes a great hi-density head line for stripers with an intermediate running line. Pick up a few standard flies - clousers, deceivers, a slim jim and a big eye baitfish. This time of year much of the action will be centered on fish pounding small baitfish, bunker, which are like small pacific herring w/ a more petal shaped body.

Fish generally rush into structure with the flood and station facing the current on the ebb tide. Pick spots where the fish will rendezvous with the bait in the area with the current providing them an advantage.

Popham's a great spot for ambushing bait if you're a bass on the outgoing, and if you poke around on the incoming you'll find spots where the fish tend to gather as they make their advance into inshore structure.

This time of year it's mostly just a matter of finding bait, and finding where the fish are busting on them. The birds are your biggest clue, where they are whirling over the bait you will have the best chance of your first striper hookup.

Be very careful of the tide, it's common for people to venture out on a piece of bottom that will be a threat to the angler on the flood tide. Get the tide charts for the area before you do anything and think about starting your first adventure on the dropping tide to prevent a mishap.