Just How Do You Do This? [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Just How Do You Do This?

sjs
07-12-2003, 09:03 AM
Not sure which part of the forum I should ask this question. After getting good advice on my selection of a new 8 wt, I ended up with a Sage VPS 9ft, 4 piece and a Ross BG-4 reel. Thanks for the tip Juro, I like it very much. Despite never having had a rod this size or this fast I had no trouble adjusting to it and actually found it easier and more fun to cast than any previous rod I've had.

Trouble is, I bought a spare reel spool and put sinking line on it, which I have never used before. Now, after a day fishing for smallmouth on the Susquehanna River, I decided to give the sinking line a try. So what I'm wondering now is, just how do you cast one of those things? It must be a trick done with smoke and mirrors, right? It's a 250 gr Mastery Express Wet Tip-Fresh. Nobody can really cast one of these things can they?

Penguin
07-12-2003, 06:29 PM
IMHO...There are a few ways to skin a cat (sorry PETA)...this is one way to dump some line and get you started...
With the weighted line and about a foot of running line outside the rod tip (maybe less to start), do a forward roll cast to get the line on or near the surface and stretched out front...as soon as it lands start a sweep-to-the-side-round back cast and scribe what might look like a large "C"...starting low and as it swings to the rear and as the line stretches out start the forward top of the "C" and stop as you would with a normal cast...follow through...
This is tough...sorta' like telling someone how to paint a sunset...
Best if you can find someone who has broken the code for pointers. Keep false casts to a minimum...Sweep and shoot!
Time spent on the lawn will pay off on the water! (Caution...stay away from power lines!)
PracticePracticePractice
There are a few video tapes that might help...or your local shop!
Good luck and don't fall in...but, if you do, make it look good!:D

sjs