Reel questions... QC Char and Brookies [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Reel questions... QC Char and Brookies

Shinglekill
07-10-2003, 07:44 PM
Hi all, I've been lurking here for a while and thought I'd introduce myself with some questions.

I've been flyfishing since I could walk, but 99% of my fishing has been on small spring Catskill creeks. I've never caught a fish over 14" and I've never fished larger than a 4wt.
In the end of August I'm headed to northern Quebec in search of Caribou, char and monster Brook trout. I'm expecting I'll be using streamers and muddlers and hoping for some dry action. After looking around for 8wt flyrods, I've found a great deal on a Winston LTX 9'6" 8wt. Now I'm looking for that perfect reel to match.

From some dealer suggestions, I've been considering;
Ross Canyon Big Game 4
Ross Evolution 3.5
Tibor Back Country Wide

I have no experience with either of these companies, and I'm buying them via the internet so I can't really judge them by feel.

Any preferences or other suggestions?

Which ever I get, I'll carry an extra spool with floating line in case I get lucky.

Thanks in advance,

Mean Mr Mustard
07-11-2003, 10:31 AM
Sorry to say I have no first-hand experience with those reels but I do know they all have solid reputations. From what I have heard, you should be happy with any of them.

Question for ya on the rod - Why an 8 wt. for trout? Seems to me to be serious overkill when a 6 wt. would start feeling a little heavy. Must be some huge fishies up there...

mmm

Shinglekill
07-11-2003, 11:36 AM
Originally posted by Mean Mr Mustard
Question for ya on the rod - Why an 8 wt. for trout? Seems to me to be serious overkill when a 6 wt. would start feeling a little heavy. Must be some huge fishies up there...
mmm

mmm, I'm going on my friends and my guides advice. We are to expect fish in the 4-20+ pound range. From 4lb brookies to 20+ pound lakers. Plus potential winds...