S. Fork of the Snake in Idaho? [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: S. Fork of the Snake in Idaho?

Fly Dry
07-02-2003, 01:03 PM
I'm a novice rower but an experienced fly fisher. I am interested in floating the S. Fork of the Snake this August in a 18 foot Dory.
What are the best and easiest sections to float?
What is the most scenic section to float?
What class is most of the river and can a novice float it?
I want to float the river all day and have a shuttle for my truck, then car camp near the river, any suggestions for this?
Any lodges or cabins that you recommend in the area?
Any other info would be great! Many thanks!!!!

beartooth91
07-06-2003, 09:06 AM
FlyDry,

I was stationed in Idaho Falls from 91 to 94 and used to fish the South Fork quite a bit. Used to be one of the great Cutthroat rivers in the U.S.
The Swan Valley area is a great place to float and down thru the canyon to Ririe or is it Rigsby ?
There are no major rapids that I remember, so, if you're experienced it should be no problem. As for lodges - the South Fork Lodge is fairly well known. I believe its owned by Mike Lawson of Henry's Fork Anglers Inc. fame.
One request - please, please, kill every Rainbow or hybrid you catch ! I know that we believe in catch & release, but, ironically this belief could be the biggest issue in this particular river's future. Since I left, the Rainbows are taking the river over at an alarming rate ! The last electroshock survey in 2002 yielded approx 1:1 ratio of Rainbows or hybrids to Cutts. Harvesting Rainbows is maybe the only hope to saving the South Fork's once great Cutthroat fishery.
beartooth91

Fly Dry
07-07-2003, 10:13 AM
Thanks very much for the info.
I will cetainly have to harvest any bows or hybrids we catch, that should not be a problem.
Thanks.

FlyFishAR
07-07-2003, 10:23 AM
beartooth91: