Floating Lines? [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Floating Lines?


craig
06-04-2003, 03:20 PM
I have a Sage #6 Length 9'0" Model GFL 690-4 RPL. I am looking at buying a new floating line. What are other people using? I am also looking for suggestion.

BigDave
06-04-2003, 03:50 PM
I use a Rio Grand on my Sage 6wt. Awesome line.

FYI the RioGrande lines are a little heavier than a traditional 6wt line..I have heard it described as a 6 1/2wt which feels about right. Perfect for fast action rods.

dewey
06-04-2003, 04:00 PM
I have the Cortland 555. It is monocore and very stiff, which makes it really easy casting unless it is cold. When it is cold it has lots of memory, and the coils stay in it. It has been more durable than my other lines.
I used to always like the 444 rocket taper, too.

Adrian
06-04-2003, 10:40 PM
I picked up a new floater recently made by a company called - wait for it - drum-roll - cymbal crash - Sage:eyecrazy:

Looks like they're in the line busines too now. Probably made for them by someone else - right up there in pricepoint but one of the smoothest and most supple lines I've used in a long time - absolutely love it.

Robert Burton
06-05-2003, 10:08 AM
Cortland all the way a real nice blend between $ and quality. And Like Dewey said real durable 444 or 555 the details DT WF etc are up to you! :D

craig
06-06-2003, 06:25 PM
:) :) :) :)

FlyFishAR
07-04-2003, 06:10 AM
Craig:

Just in general for colder climates I prefer the Rio lines and for warmer climates the SA lines. I think the Rio lines generally stay more "castable" at the cooler temperatures but start to get a little sticky at the warmer tempertures (90-100+).

My $.02

John

craig
07-09-2003, 12:48 PM
I have the Rio Grand #6 camo line, I like it, but I am wondering if anyone can suggest a line that would be able to cast futher? I use to throw a Wolf line with a tapered head, it was a #5 on my 6 weight rod. Do people think a Wolf #6 would cast further than the Rio Grand?

BigDave
07-09-2003, 01:02 PM
Craig,

If you have the WF Rio Grande it should cast as far as anything else available. I can shoot mine way farther than is necessary for any trout fishing situation I have ever encountered. You might just need to get used to it on your RPL. IMHO casting distance has more to do with your mechanics and timing than equipment...

FlyFishAR
07-09-2003, 02:15 PM
IMHO casting distance has more to do with your mechanics and timing than equipment...


Man.... is that ever the truth.......


John