Fly Fishing Forum banner

Rotary Vise Questions

3K views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  GregS 
#1 ·
I broke down last weekend and bought a Renzetti traveller last weekend to replace a cheap, worn out, vise. When tying with it I realized that I need to rethink how I tie to take advantage of the rotary feature. My questions are:

What do I do with the bobbin rest? I hit it on every wrap of thread until I took it off.

Besides inspecting the back side of a fly, what steps should I use the rotary feature for?

Any tips for increasing tying productivity?

Thanks in advance for the assistance.

#2 ·
I just got a rotary vise - Danvise so I am far from an expert.

The bobbin rest should be able to be pushed out of the way when not in use. I use the rotary feature to help me more evenly attach materials, to apply epoxy and other stuff more easily, and to wrap materials like chenile and dubbing.

I love it!

#3 ·
I'm sure there are a number of other functions but..
The bobbin rest is best used when you are palmering hackle or zonker and/or wrapping material on the hook shank like dubbing, body braid or tinsel. The key it to have the shank of the hook on the same centerline as the axis of the vise, then position the bobbin rest so that the thread tracks right at the eye of the hook.
Some tiers will use the rotary function when applying the threads to the hook but I find it's faster to rotate the bobbin tip.
As Greg says, just swing it back 90* when you don't need it. Never in the way back there.
Other functions;
It's often easier to build a lower wing/body of a fly with the hook inverted, doing a high/low tie on a fly you are always reversing position.
I find it very helpful in matching location when applying eyes.
Building epoxy heads when using quick-dry epoxy

#4 ·
[by the time I finished my reply Bob provided a much more concise summary - read this if you have spare time
]